Meet the Author: Shannon M. Parker

Shannon M ParkerShannon M. Parker was raised on a small Massachusetts farm perched beside a rambling brook, a setting that often creeps into her middle grade stories. As idyllic as frigid, pre-dawn stall shoveling was, Shannon left home for college in Vermont. That first bit of travel inspired a passion for wandering that made her nomadic for about a decade, traveling to thirty-five countries and earning degrees at three New England universities. She now lives and roams within reach of the fierce Atlantic, grounded by her husband and young sons. She works in education, helping adult students gain literacy skills and younger students to stay in school. Travel these days is mostly reserved for her characters. Shannon is represented by Melissa Sarver White at Folio Literary Management.

Her debut young adult novel, THE GIRL WHO FELL (Simon Pulse, Spring 2016), is a story of first love in which a high school senior mistakes her boyfriend’s physical and mental manipulations for devotion, only to discover the truth when it may be too late.

Shannon is the Sweet Sixteens 16th Day Coordinator. She collects news from members and posts announcements, deals, and other group awesomeness on the 16th day of each month.

Fun facts:

  • Favorite book growing up: CAT’S EYE by Margaret Atwood
  • Childhood aspiration: Be Margaret Atwood
  • Favorite time of day/place to write: Mornings, playlist-free, preferably within view of an ocean
  • Book currently reading/most recently read: WINTERKILL by 2014 debut YA author Kate Boorman
  • Favorite things to do (other than reading): Laugh
  • Favorite sports teams: Boston Red Sox
  • Surprising personal fact: Writing a “Meet the Author” bio was harder than writing a novel
  • Greatest thing about being a 2016 debut author: Debuting in 2016

Where to find her:

Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Add book

10 thoughts on “Meet the Author: Shannon M. Parker

  1. I love the premise of your book, Shannon. (The premise and the promise, actually.) This feels so real to me. It’s so easy to mistake manipulation/obsession for devotion as a teen (or maybe beyond teenhood, even). I remember being so sure I was seeing my situation clearly when I was that age, only to discover the hard way (and in retrospect) that I had had no clue. I can’t wait to see what you’ve done with this dynamic in your book and see how it plays out with your characters. I bet it’s going to resonate with me for sure. (I wish I didn’t have to wait till 2016, though, so if you could expedite publication, please….)

      • “Swoon-worthy”– I love that! Something tells me I’m going to really, really be into CRUSHING. Can’t wait for the swooning to commence 😉

  2. Hi Shannon! Thanks for sharing your bio! (I love it, and not just because I’m a New England native, too). First off, I am duly impressed that you traveled to 35 countries. I’d be hard-pressed to even NAME 35 countries off the top of my head. Clearly my geographic inadequacies are showing, haha.

    Also, I happen to love to laugh too. I saw a quote recently (and for the life of me I can’t remember where, so apologies to whomever I’m stealing this from; or should I say citing without reference). Anyway, the quote is: “Laugh and you are free.” So I thought it was especially cool to see that your favorite thing to do (outside of reading) is laugh. Beyond the documented health and wel-being benefits of laughter (okay, so now I sound like a rep from the Laughing Council of America…apologies to the Council if such an entity exists), it’s just…well, it’s one of those things that makes life worth living. High five! And high five on your upcoming debut…I’m looking forward to the read 🙂

Leave a Reply

