Meet the Author: Jenn Bishop

Jenn BishopJenn Bishop earned her B.A. from University of Chicago, and a master’s in Library Science from Simmons College. After working as a teen and children’s librarian, she decided she was not quite done with school and went to Vermont College of Fine Arts for her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults. Jenn currently resides outside of Boston with her astrophysicist husband and cat, Lilly. When she’s not reading or writing, she can be found rooting for the Red Sox at Fenway Park.

Jenn’s debut middle grade novel, THE DISTANCE TO HOME (Knopf/Random House, June 2016), will appeal to fans of Cynthia Lord and Lisa Graff. The summer after her older sister Haley died, nothing feels quite right for eleven-year-old Quinnen. Her main salvation is the Bandits, the minor league baseball team in town, and for once her parents agree to host a player. But it’s still not the same as being on the field herself—pitching from the mound—something she hasn’t done since Haley’s death. Can she find a way to get back in the game, even though everything’s changed?

Fun Facts:

  • Favorite book growing up: ALICE series by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor, and ANNE OF GREEN GABLES by L.M. Montgomery
  • Childhood aspiration: Be Lorelai Gilmore.
  • Book currently reading/most recently read: CHILDREN OF THE KING by Sonya Hartnett
  • Favorite sports team: Boston Red Sox
  • Surprising personal fact: Jenn once owned 14 hamsters simultaneously. (She does not recommend this.)
  • Favorite time of the day/place to write: Her home office, in the morning
  • Greatest thing about being a 2016 debut author: By the time her book hits the shelf, her nephew will be able to read it.

Where to find her:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Add Book

Advertisements

One thought on “Meet the Author: Jenn Bishop

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s