16th Day Update

RIPPLERIPPLE

Heather Smith Meloche revealed the cover for her YA novel RIPPLE on March 21st.

When their too-adult lives lead them down self-destructive paths, these broken teens find a way to heal in this YA novel perfect for fans of Ellen Hopkins.

With her impossible-to-please grandmother on her back about college and her disapproving step-dad watching her every move, Tessa would do anything to escape the pressure-cooker she calls home. So she finds a shot of much-needed power and confidence by hooking up with boys, even though it means cheating on her boyfriend. But when she’s finally caught red-handed, she’ll do anything she can to cover up what she’s done.

Jack is a prankster who bucks the system every chance he gets—each transgression getting riskier and riskier. He loves the thrill, and each adventure allows a little release because his smug smile and suave demeanor in the face of authority doesn’t make life at home with his mom any less tough. He tries to take care of her, but the truth is he’s powerless in the face of her fragile mental health. So he copes in his own way, by defacing public property and pulling elaborate pranks, though he knows in the end this’ll only screw up his life even more.

As they both try not to let their self-destructive patterns get the best of them, Tessa and Jack gravitate toward one another, discovering the best parts of themselves in the process. An honest portrayal of the urges that drive us and finding the strength to overcome them.

POPPY THE MONDAYPOPPY MAYBERRY, THE MONDAY

Jennie K. Brown revealed her MG cover for Poppy Mayberry, The Monday on April 7th.

What if your teacher could read your mind just because she was born on a Thursday? Or the kid next to you in class could turn back the clock just because he was a ‘Wednesday”? In the quirky town of Nova, all of this is normal, but one thing is not—Poppy Mayberry. As an almost-eleven-year-old Monday, she should be able to pass notes in class or brush her dog, Pickle, without lifting a finger.

But her Monday telekinesis still has some kinks, and that plate of spaghetti she’s passing may just end up on someone’s head. And if that’s not hard enough, practically perfect Ellie Preston is out to get her, and Principal Wible wants to send her to remedial summer school to work on her powers!

It’s enough to make a girl want to disappear…if only she were a Friday.

 

Howard Wallace HOWARD WALLACE, P.I.

Casey Lyall revealed her cover for her MG novel HOWARD WALLACE, P.I. on April 11th

“What’s with the get-up? Is that the company uniform or something?”
“This? All P.I.s wear a trench coat.”
“Dude, that’s a brown bathrobe.”
I shrugged and straightened out my sleeves. “First rule of private investigation, Ivy: work with what you’ve got.”

Twelve-year-old Howard Wallace lives by his list of rules of private investigation. He knows more than anyone how to work with what he’s got: a bathrobe for a trench coat, a makeshift office behind the school equipment shed, and not much else—least of all, friends. So when a hot case of blackmail lands on his desk, he’s ready to take it on himself . . . until the new kid, Ivy Mason, convinces him to take her on as a junior partner. As they banter through stakeouts and narrow down their list of suspects, Howard starts to wonder if having Ivy as a sidekick—and a friend—is such a bad thing after all.

Teach me to Forget_BG cvr.inddTEACH ME TO FORGET

Erica M. Chapman revealed her cover for her YA novel TEACH ME TO FORGET   on April 13th.

Ellery’s bought the gun, made arrangements for her funeral, and even picked the day. A Wednesday. Everything has fallen into place.

Now all she has to do is die.

When her plans go awry and the gun she was going to kill herself with breaks, she does the one thing she has control over–return it and get a new one. After tormenting the crusty customer service associate by trying to return the gun with the wrong receipt, Ellery gets caught by the security guard who also happens to be someone she knows–the annoyingly perfect Colter Sawyer from her English class.

Colter quickly uncovers her secret and is determined to change her mind. After confessing his guilt over his brother’s suicide, he promises not to tell her secret. Ellery tries to fight her attraction to him as the shadows of her past cling tight around her, but when she’s faced with another tragedy, she must decide whether her love for one boy is more important than a lifetime of pain.

PHANTOM LIMBSPHANTOM LIMBS

Paula Garner revealed her cover for her YA novel PHANTOM LIMBS.

How do you move on from an irreplaceable loss? In a poignant debut, a sixteen-year-old boy must learn to swim against an undercurrent of grief—or be swept away by it.

Otis and Meg were inseparable until her family abruptly moved away after the terrible accident that left Otis’s little brother dead and both of their families changed forever. Since then, it’s been three years of radio silence, during which time Otis has become the unlikely protégé of eighteen-year-old Dara—part drill sergeant, part friend—who’s hell-bent on transforming Otis into the Olympic swimmer she can no longer be. But when Otis learns that Meg is coming back to town, he must face some difficult truths about the girl he’s never forgotten and the brother he’s never stopped grieving. As it becomes achingly clear that he and Meg are not the same people they were, Otis must decide what to hold on to and what to leave behind.

Quietly affecting, this compulsively readable debut novel captures all the confusion, heartbreak, and fragile hope of three teens struggling to accept profound absences in their lives.

Appearances:

gbf logo 2Kathy MacMillan, author of Sword and Verse, will be a featured author at the Gaithersburg Book Festival in Gaithersburg, MD on Saturday, May 21.

 

 

The Chesapeake Children’s Book Festival will take place on Saturday, June 11 in Easton, MD, and five Sweet Sixteens will be featured:gbf logo

Melanie Conklin (Counting Thyme)

Kathy MacMillan (Sword and Verse)

Lee Gjertsen Malone (The Last Boy at St. Edith’s)

Laura Shovan (The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary)

Mia Siegert (Jerkbait)

Melissa Gorzelanczyk, author of the YA novel ARROWS, will be appearing as a panelist and featured author at the Chicago Young Adult Book Fest on April 23, 2016.

Dana Elmendorf, author of the YA novel SOUTH OF SUNSHINE, will be appearing at BEA/BookCon May 13-14, 2016. Go to her events page to see all her May events.

BFF Bucket ListDee Romito, author of the MG novel THE BFF BUCKET LIST, will be appearing at Barnes & Noble in Amherst, NY for her May 3 book release.

She will also be at Sweet Home Middle on May 6 for her official launch party- all ages are welcome! Visit http://www.deeromito.com/events for details.

Around the web:

Dana Elmendorf has great advice for writers on Writer’s Digest website: 6 Hard Truths Every Writer Should Accept

 

Advertisements

One thought on “16th Day Update

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s