Meet the Author: Traci Chee

Traci CheeTraci Chee is an author of speculative fiction for teens. An all-around word geek, she loves book arts and art books, poetry and paper crafts, though she also dabbles at piano playing, egg painting, and hosting potluck game nights for family and friends. She studied literature and creative writing at UC Santa Cruz and earned a master of arts degree from San Francisco State University. Traci grew up in a small town with more cows than people, and now feels most at home in the mountains, scaling switchbacks and happening upon hidden highland lakes. She lives in California with her fast-fast dog.

Traci’s YA debut, THE READER (Penguin/Putnam, Fall 2016), is a nonlinear, multi-POV fantasy perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone: When her only remaining relative is kidnapped, Sefia vows to save her—even if that means learning to read in a world where literacy is forbidden and sacrificing the boy she loves to the secret society that destroyed her family.

Fun facts:

  • Favorite book growing up: A WRINKLE IN TIME by Madeleine L’Engle
  • Childhood aspiration: to become a veterinarian
  • Favorite time of day/place to write: at her desk in the morning with a cup of English Breakfast tea
  • Book currently reading/most recently read: AN EMBER IN THE ASHES by Sabaa Tahir
  • Surprising personal fact: When she was in 8th grade, she was one of the top 25 spellers in California. (Although this probably wouldn’t be surprising if you met her.)
  • Greatest thing about being a 2016 debut author: Besides the fact that she gets to do books? Definitely the people. She’s met such talented, whip-smart, hilarious people on this journey, she’s seriously so so lucky to be here.

Where to find her:

WebsiteTwitter | FacebookGoodreads 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Meet the Author: Traci Chee

  1. The Reader is amazing! I translated it into Spanish and, at the end of every day, I couldn’t wait to translate more. I had never come across a book that invites and entices me to translate it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s