“I Wish I’d Known…”: Advice for Debut Authors, Part 1

Members of the Sweet Sixteens share what they’ve learned in their debut year.

Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl From Everywhere

Heidi Helig   Heidi Heilig (THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE)

Find her online at www.heidiheilig.com

“I wish I’d known that it’s not like this forever. Moving from ‘writer’ to ‘author’ was a big change for me, and I thought the excitement, drama, pressure, and responsibilities that move brought were a permanent change. But though life is certainly a bit more stressful (and a bit more fun) post publication, a lot of the pressure has lifted because the newness of everything has faded. I’ve learned what’s important, what I can skip, what works for me, and what I just can’t do. So if debuting has you in a tizzy, enjoy the ride knowing that eventually you will find equilibrium again.”

 

Ava Jae, author of the Beyond the Red trilogy

Ava Jae  Beyond the Red

Find her online at http://avajae.blogspot.com/

“I wish I’d known how quick it all feels! When you’re launching a book and in the thick of everything that leads up to it, it feels like a mountain of work and feelings and stress. But it’s pretty amazing how quickly your launch date arrives—and then becomes a memory. Make sure you take time to enjoy every step of the way; it won’t be long before you blink and neck-deep in preparation for your next book. :)”

 

Mike Grosso, author of I Am Drums

Mike Grosso Author Headshot cropped  I-AM-DRUMS-R4

Find him online at http://mikegrossoauthor.com

“I wish I’d known that it’s perfectly normal to be afraid of being a debut author. No one knows what to expect the first time through this wild ride, and the voices in your head telling you you’re screwing this all up are your fears and anxieties lying to you. You have a book. It’s real. You did good, dude.”

 

Jenn Bishop, author of The Distance to Home and 14 Hollow Road

Jenn Barnes   THE DISTANCE TO HOME   14 Hollow Road

Find her online at http://www.jennbishop.com

“I wish I’d known that I’d spend so much time in the post office! (Mailing ARCs, bookmarks, etc.) I could’ve written a whole new book with all the time spent waiting in line. (Note to self: learn how to type more accurately on cell phone.)”

 

 

 

One thought on ““I Wish I’d Known…”: Advice for Debut Authors, Part 1

  1. Pingback: Top Picks Thursday! For Readers & Writers 12-22-2016 | The Author Chronicles

Leave a Reply

