“I Wish I’d Known…”: Advice for Debut Authors, Part 4

More Members of the Sweet Sixteens share what they’ve learned in their debut year.

Part 1.

Part 2.

Part 3.

 

Heather Smith Meloche, author of Ripple

Heather Smith Meloche    RIPPLE

Find her online at www.heathersmithmeloche.com

“I wish I’d known how out of my comfort zone I’d be having to promote my own work. Me as a salesperson is like: “You don’t want it? O.K. Cool.” But that doesn’t fly in this biz. And while I can tout my peers’ accomplishments all day, it’s awkward to ask for reviews or find a trillion flashy ways to publicize my book. But timidity won’t sell for you, so prepare to scream, shout, stand battalion-ready behind your novel, then fire it into the crowd. Even if it means withdrawing under a blanket with tea in hand after to recuperate!”

 

Kathleen Burkinshaw, author of The Last Cherry Blossom

Kathleen Burkinshaw   Last Cherry Blossom_cover (1) (1) (2)

Find her online at www.kathleenburkinshaw.com

“I wish I’d known that there are specific proposal submission deadlines for state school library, reading conferences, and various book festivals. I would have submitted proposals prior to my publishing date. One source for book festivals is www.bookreporter.com/book-festivals.  Also, look up your state and neighboring states’ school library, local city library, and reading conferences.”

 

S.A. Larsen, author of Motley Education

S.A. Larsen   motleyedhighres

Find her online at salarsenbooks.com

“I wish I’d known that the rigors of post-release sucking any solid story words from my head to write the second book is actually normal. Publishing your first book, entrusting your baby to the minds and hearts of readers is exhausting and scary. But it is also brave. Be gentle with your post-release self. ”

 

Stephanie Scott, author of Alterations

Stephanie Scott   steph scott alterations cover

Find her online at http://www.stephaniescott.net/

“I wish I’d known that as much as you prepare for publication, there will be changes out of your control–and that’s okay. There’s no one, single publishing experience. Share your ups and downs with other debut writers and be there for each other.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

