Releasing Today: June 13, 2017

Congratulations to our members with books releasing today!  Click on the cover below for more information about each title:

14 Hollow Road Book Cover   Obsidian and Stars by Julie Eshbaugh Book Cover   Theif's Cunning by Sarah Ahiers Book Cover

 

Advertisements

Educator & Discussion Guides from the Sweet Sixteens

Whether you’re a teacher looking for curriculum connections or a book club organizer looking for a new selection with ready-made discussion questions, we have the resources for you! The links below provide direct, free (!!!) access to educator’s guides and discussion questions for a variety of middle grade and young adult titles, all published in 2016.

Middle Grade:

 BFF Bucket List

The BFF Bucket List by Dee Romito

 

 

 

COUNTING THYME

 

Counting Thyme by Melanie Conklin

 

 

 

THE DISTANCE TO HOME

 

The Distance to Home by Jenn Bishop

 

 

 

Bounders_cvr_LR-2tundra-trials

 

Earth Force Rising (Bounders 1), The Tundra Trials (Bounders 2) by Monica Tesler

 

 

 

Victoria J Coe (FENWAY AND HATTIE)

 

Fenway and Hattie by Victoria J. Coe

 

 

 

Finding Perfect Cover

 

Finding Perfect by Elly Swartz

 

 

 

from-the-grave-monster-trilogy-1

 

From The Grave by Cynthia Reeg

 

 

 

Howard Wallace

 

Howard Wallace, P.I. by Casey Lyall

 

 

 

I-AM-DRUMS-R4

 

I Am Drums by Mike Grosso

 

 

 

Last Cherry Blossom_cover (1) (1) (2)

 

The Last Cherry Blossom by Kathleen Burkinshaw

 

 

 

Last-Fifth-Grade

 

The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary by Laura Shovan

 

 

 

PBJ Society

 

The Last Great Adventure of the PB&J Society by Janet Sumner Johnson

 

 

 

WAR

 

The Midnight War of Mateo Martinez by Robin Yardi

 

 

 

momotaro

 

Momotaro: Xander and the Lost Island of Monsters by Margaret Dilloway

 

 

 

motleyedhighres

 

Motley Education by S.A. Larsen

 

 

 

Lois Sepahban (PAPER WISHES)

 

Paper Wishes by Lois Sepahban

 

 

 

RAT PRINCE

 

The Rat Prince by Bridget Hodder

 

 

 

CHARLIE PRICE

 

The Remarkable Journey of Charlie Price by Jennifer Maschari

 

 

 

 

Young Adult:

DIG TOO DEEP

 

Dig Too Deep by Amy Allgeyer [second page]

 

 

 

mY KIND OF CRAZY

 

My Kind of Crazy by Robin Reul

 

 

 

Phantom Limbs

 

Phantom Limbs by Paula Garner

 

 

 

Underwater

 

Underwater: A Novel by Marisa Reichardt

 

 

 

THE WAY I USED TO BE

 

The Way I Used To Be by Amber Smith

“I Wish I’d Known…”: Advice for Debut Authors, Part 1

Members of the Sweet Sixteens share what they’ve learned in their debut year.

Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl From Everywhere

Heidi Helig   Heidi Heilig (THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE)

Find her online at www.heidiheilig.com

“I wish I’d known that it’s not like this forever. Moving from ‘writer’ to ‘author’ was a big change for me, and I thought the excitement, drama, pressure, and responsibilities that move brought were a permanent change. But though life is certainly a bit more stressful (and a bit more fun) post publication, a lot of the pressure has lifted because the newness of everything has faded. I’ve learned what’s important, what I can skip, what works for me, and what I just can’t do. So if debuting has you in a tizzy, enjoy the ride knowing that eventually you will find equilibrium again.”

 

Ava Jae, author of the Beyond the Red trilogy

Ava Jae  Beyond the Red

Find her online at http://avajae.blogspot.com/

“I wish I’d known how quick it all feels! When you’re launching a book and in the thick of everything that leads up to it, it feels like a mountain of work and feelings and stress. But it’s pretty amazing how quickly your launch date arrives—and then becomes a memory. Make sure you take time to enjoy every step of the way; it won’t be long before you blink and neck-deep in preparation for your next book. :)”

 

Mike Grosso, author of I Am Drums

Mike Grosso Author Headshot cropped  I-AM-DRUMS-R4

Find him online at http://mikegrossoauthor.com

“I wish I’d known that it’s perfectly normal to be afraid of being a debut author. No one knows what to expect the first time through this wild ride, and the voices in your head telling you you’re screwing this all up are your fears and anxieties lying to you. You have a book. It’s real. You did good, dude.”

 

Jenn Bishop, author of The Distance to Home and 14 Hollow Road

Jenn Barnes   THE DISTANCE TO HOME   14 Hollow Road

Find her online at http://www.jennbishop.com

“I wish I’d known that I’d spend so much time in the post office! (Mailing ARCs, bookmarks, etc.) I could’ve written a whole new book with all the time spent waiting in line. (Note to self: learn how to type more accurately on cell phone.)”

 

 

 

Printable Release Calendar for June!

Here’s our handy printable release calendar to help you keep track of all the sweet June debuts coming at you soon!

Click here for the June 2016 calendar in .pdf format

 

JUNE Book Cover Calendar

Thanks to our printable calendar team: Sarah Alexander,  Jenn Nguyen, Dee Romito, Shari Schwarz, Kathy MacMillan, Randi Pink and Ava Jae!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meet the Author: Jenn Bishop

Jenn BishopJenn Bishop earned her B.A. from University of Chicago, and a master’s in Library Science from Simmons College. After working as a teen and children’s librarian, she decided she was not quite done with school and went to Vermont College of Fine Arts for her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults. Jenn currently resides outside of Boston with her astrophysicist husband and cat, Lilly. When she’s not reading or writing, she can be found rooting for the Red Sox at Fenway Park.

Jenn’s debut middle grade novel, THE DISTANCE TO HOME (Knopf/Random House, June 2016), will appeal to fans of Cynthia Lord and Lisa Graff. The summer after her older sister Haley died, nothing feels quite right for eleven-year-old Quinnen. Her main salvation is the Bandits, the minor league baseball team in town, and for once her parents agree to host a player. But it’s still not the same as being on the field herself—pitching from the mound—something she hasn’t done since Haley’s death. Can she find a way to get back in the game, even though everything’s changed?

Fun Facts:

  • Favorite book growing up: ALICE series by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor, and ANNE OF GREEN GABLES by L.M. Montgomery
  • Childhood aspiration: Be Lorelai Gilmore.
  • Book currently reading/most recently read: CHILDREN OF THE KING by Sonya Hartnett
  • Favorite sports team: Boston Red Sox
  • Surprising personal fact: Jenn once owned 14 hamsters simultaneously. (She does not recommend this.)
  • Favorite time of the day/place to write: Her home office, in the morning
  • Greatest thing about being a 2016 debut author: By the time her book hits the shelf, her nephew will be able to read it.

Where to find her:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Add Book

#SixteensBlogAbout Gratitude

Christmas candles

Under under a Creative Commons license. (c) Markus Grossalber

//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsIn our latest #SixteensBlogAbout, the Sweet Sixteens blogged about gratitude! Check out the posts below to see what we are grateful for, and don’t forget to leave the Sixteens some love on their own blog as well as here!

Feel free to share this post with the hashtag #SixteensBlogAbout.

1) Stephanie Scott blogged about writing friends and the support of the community.

2) Breeana Shields blogged about passions and doing what you love.

3) Cynthia Reeg blogged about Thanksgiving.

4) Laurie Elizabeth Flynn blogged about the debut experience.

5) Jenn Bishop blogged about ups and down and support along the way.

6) Kristy Acevedo blogged about the Big Brothers Big Sisters program.

7) Everly Frost blogged about seven days of gratitude.

8) Michele Bacon blogged about 1977.

9) And Marieke Nijkamp blogged about readers, over at The Silver Words.

Curious? Follow the links and spread the word!