Keeping Up with the Sweet Sixteens: Awards, Cover Reveals, and More!

And the award goes to…

 

Laura Shovan’s middle grade debut, The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary, was named the 2018 Arnold Adoff Poetry Award for New Voices honor book.

 

 

 

 

 

Margot Harrison’s debut novel, The Killer in Me, was named a finalist for the 2017 Vermont Book Award, created and administered by Vermont College of Fine Arts.

 

 

 

Jenn Bishop’s middle grade novel The Distance to Home is on the Iowa Children’s Choice Award list for 2018-2019.

 

 

Victoria J. Coe’s middle grade novel Fenway and Hattie, the 2017 Global Read Aloud for Early Readers, has been selected as a One School, One Book “Sweet Spot” title by the literacy organization Read to Them.

 

 

 

 

Coming soon!

 

The third book in C.M. Surrisi’s Quinnie Boyd Mystery series, A Side of Sabotage, is coming out March 1, 2018 from Carolrhoda.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Michele Bacon’s second novel, Antipodes, publishes April 3rd. If you’re near Seattle, come to her book launch at Secret Garden in Ballard, 7 p.m. on April 3rd.

 

 

 

 

 

Wendy McLeod MacKnight recently revealed the cover of her next middle grade novel, The Frame-Up. The novel, which explores the idea that every original piece of artwork is alive (but doesn’t want us to know it’s alive!) and will contain sixteen pages of full color glossy images of actual masterpieces from the Beaverbrook Art Gallery (which are characters in the book) will be published on June 5th by Greenwillow Books.

 

 

 

 

 

Parker Peevyhouse’s upcoming book, The Echo Room, is coming September 11, 2018 from Tor Teen, is available for preorder!

 

 

 

 

Kathy MacMillan’s Dagger and Coin, the companion novel to her Compton Crook Award-nominated debut, Sword and Verse, will be published by HarperTeen on November 20. The story follows Soraya Gamo, the daughter of a crown traitor, who must learn to work with her former enemies to rebuild her nation.

 

 

 

 

 

Gordon Jack’s second novel, Your Own Worst Enemy, is coming Fall 2018. Lincoln High School has three candidates for student body president: One is a career politician, one is a radical outsider, one is a clueless billionaire.  With a satirical nod to the 2016 presidential election, Gordon Jack’s sophomore novel shines a spotlight on the highs and (very low) lows of the electoral process, ultimately proving that the popular vote really is the one that matters most.

 

 

 

Upcoming Appearances

Tobie Easton will be appearing as a featured guest and panelist at two upcoming events, Teen Bookfest by the Bay in Corpus Christi, TX from February 16-18, 2018 and the SE-YA Book Fest in Murfreesboro, TN from March 8-10, 2018 (more details at: www.TobieEaston.com/events).  Tobie is the award-winning author of the Mer Chronicles series, which follows the descendants of the Little Mermaid and offers a peek into a world where mermaids aren’t just real but live secretly among us on land.  She will be signing the first two books in the series, Emerge and Submerge, at both events.

 

Advertisements

Educator & Discussion Guides from the Sweet Sixteens

Whether you’re a teacher looking for curriculum connections or a book club organizer looking for a new selection with ready-made discussion questions, we have the resources for you! The links below provide direct, free (!!!) access to educator’s guides and discussion questions for a variety of middle grade and young adult titles, all published in 2016.

Middle Grade:

 BFF Bucket List

The BFF Bucket List by Dee Romito

 

 

 

COUNTING THYME

 

Counting Thyme by Melanie Conklin

 

 

 

THE DISTANCE TO HOME

 

The Distance to Home by Jenn Bishop

 

 

 

Bounders_cvr_LR-2tundra-trials

 

Earth Force Rising (Bounders 1), The Tundra Trials (Bounders 2) by Monica Tesler

 

 

 

Victoria J Coe (FENWAY AND HATTIE)

 

Fenway and Hattie by Victoria J. Coe

 

 

 

Finding Perfect Cover

 

Finding Perfect by Elly Swartz

 

 

 

from-the-grave-monster-trilogy-1

 

From The Grave by Cynthia Reeg

 

 

 

Howard Wallace

 

Howard Wallace, P.I. by Casey Lyall

 

 

 

I-AM-DRUMS-R4

 

I Am Drums by Mike Grosso

 

 

 

Last Cherry Blossom_cover (1) (1) (2)

 

The Last Cherry Blossom by Kathleen Burkinshaw

 

 

 

Last-Fifth-Grade

 

The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary by Laura Shovan

 

 

 

PBJ Society

 

The Last Great Adventure of the PB&J Society by Janet Sumner Johnson

 

 

 

WAR

 

The Midnight War of Mateo Martinez by Robin Yardi

 

 

 

momotaro

 

Momotaro: Xander and the Lost Island of Monsters by Margaret Dilloway

 

 

 

motleyedhighres

 

Motley Education by S.A. Larsen

 

 

 

Lois Sepahban (PAPER WISHES)

 

Paper Wishes by Lois Sepahban

 

 

 

RAT PRINCE

 

The Rat Prince by Bridget Hodder

 

 

 

CHARLIE PRICE

 

The Remarkable Journey of Charlie Price by Jennifer Maschari

 

 

 

 

Young Adult:

DIG TOO DEEP

 

Dig Too Deep by Amy Allgeyer [second page]

 

 

 

mY KIND OF CRAZY

 

My Kind of Crazy by Robin Reul

 

 

 

Phantom Limbs

 

Phantom Limbs by Paula Garner

 

 

 

Underwater

 

Underwater: A Novel by Marisa Reichardt

 

 

 

THE WAY I USED TO BE

 

The Way I Used To Be by Amber Smith

“I Wish I’d Known…”: Advice for Debut Authors, Part 1

Members of the Sweet Sixteens share what they’ve learned in their debut year.

Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl From Everywhere

Heidi Helig   Heidi Heilig (THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE)

Find her online at www.heidiheilig.com

“I wish I’d known that it’s not like this forever. Moving from ‘writer’ to ‘author’ was a big change for me, and I thought the excitement, drama, pressure, and responsibilities that move brought were a permanent change. But though life is certainly a bit more stressful (and a bit more fun) post publication, a lot of the pressure has lifted because the newness of everything has faded. I’ve learned what’s important, what I can skip, what works for me, and what I just can’t do. So if debuting has you in a tizzy, enjoy the ride knowing that eventually you will find equilibrium again.”

 

Ava Jae, author of the Beyond the Red trilogy

Ava Jae  Beyond the Red

Find her online at http://avajae.blogspot.com/

“I wish I’d known how quick it all feels! When you’re launching a book and in the thick of everything that leads up to it, it feels like a mountain of work and feelings and stress. But it’s pretty amazing how quickly your launch date arrives—and then becomes a memory. Make sure you take time to enjoy every step of the way; it won’t be long before you blink and neck-deep in preparation for your next book. :)”

 

Mike Grosso, author of I Am Drums

Mike Grosso Author Headshot cropped  I-AM-DRUMS-R4

Find him online at http://mikegrossoauthor.com

“I wish I’d known that it’s perfectly normal to be afraid of being a debut author. No one knows what to expect the first time through this wild ride, and the voices in your head telling you you’re screwing this all up are your fears and anxieties lying to you. You have a book. It’s real. You did good, dude.”

 

Jenn Bishop, author of The Distance to Home and 14 Hollow Road

Jenn Barnes   THE DISTANCE TO HOME   14 Hollow Road

Find her online at http://www.jennbishop.com

“I wish I’d known that I’d spend so much time in the post office! (Mailing ARCs, bookmarks, etc.) I could’ve written a whole new book with all the time spent waiting in line. (Note to self: learn how to type more accurately on cell phone.)”

 

 

 

Printable Release Calendar for June!

Here’s our handy printable release calendar to help you keep track of all the sweet June debuts coming at you soon!

Click here for the June 2016 calendar in .pdf format

 

JUNE Book Cover Calendar

Thanks to our printable calendar team: Sarah Alexander,  Jenn Nguyen, Dee Romito, Shari Schwarz, Kathy MacMillan, Randi Pink and Ava Jae!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meet the Author: Jenn Bishop

Jenn BishopJenn Bishop earned her B.A. from University of Chicago, and a master’s in Library Science from Simmons College. After working as a teen and children’s librarian, she decided she was not quite done with school and went to Vermont College of Fine Arts for her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults. Jenn currently resides outside of Boston with her astrophysicist husband and cat, Lilly. When she’s not reading or writing, she can be found rooting for the Red Sox at Fenway Park.

Jenn’s debut middle grade novel, THE DISTANCE TO HOME (Knopf/Random House, June 2016), will appeal to fans of Cynthia Lord and Lisa Graff. The summer after her older sister Haley died, nothing feels quite right for eleven-year-old Quinnen. Her main salvation is the Bandits, the minor league baseball team in town, and for once her parents agree to host a player. But it’s still not the same as being on the field herself—pitching from the mound—something she hasn’t done since Haley’s death. Can she find a way to get back in the game, even though everything’s changed?

Fun Facts:

  • Favorite book growing up: ALICE series by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor, and ANNE OF GREEN GABLES by L.M. Montgomery
  • Childhood aspiration: Be Lorelai Gilmore.
  • Book currently reading/most recently read: CHILDREN OF THE KING by Sonya Hartnett
  • Favorite sports team: Boston Red Sox
  • Surprising personal fact: Jenn once owned 14 hamsters simultaneously. (She does not recommend this.)
  • Favorite time of the day/place to write: Her home office, in the morning
  • Greatest thing about being a 2016 debut author: By the time her book hits the shelf, her nephew will be able to read it.

Where to find her:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Add Book